Act fast, special offers end soon! Up to $294 is savings when you get Premium today.
Get offer codes

A routine to boost up your communication skills as a Data Scientist

s_achievement_3855287

Up through my college years, I was notorious among my peers to be the perfect picture of a shy guy. I was pretty good at science and knew all the technicalities but talking to others was my biggest pet peeve.

As I graduated and got my head into the Data Science ‘cloud’ I came to realize that communication was everything. It started when I was on an internship working with a professor, a research scientist who would compliment me every single time on my analytical skills until he figured out that I have that common setback: The phobia of public speaking. He helped a lot by giving me instructions and letting me face the public whenever we were doing any presentation. It was REALLY tough for me but it helped a lot.

As I kept living up to his advice I developed that habit to ‘have a word’ no matter what the situation looks like. To spike it up I had to add a few tactics myself to come to that point. Here is how I developed that skill.

1. Going live

Oh yeah! When I say ‘Going live’ I mean it.

Whether I complete a teeny tiny data science project or the one that took months to complete, I hold live events on Zoom or Youtube Live to explain the hidden idea of my analysis. Some of the participants challenge my ideas and experienced folks would give me advice and tell me what’s missing.

2. Interacting with the data science community