Accepted a DS Offer!

Hey, all. Today I accepted a role as a Data Scientist at a well-funded start-up. I will be the first Data Scientist and this is a mid-level/Senior DS role. Before this role I worked as a Data Engineer for 7 months. You can look at this article for more info about my background to help you compare and prepare!

The role is undoubtedly a mix of data engineering and data science (modeling/analysis). For this role, aside from Data Science/DE I was expected to know AWS S3, Redshift, AWS Glue/Glue Studio, VPC, IAM, and more… read on. (If you feel scared that you don’t know these, don’t be scared. In one weekend you can pick up enough skills with these to be job ready. It’s not rocket science.)

Backstory - I was laid off from my data engineer job a week before Christmas here in the US. For the last 5 weeks I’ve been on ~40-50 interviews with about 20-30 companies. In the last 3 days I’ve received 8 other interview invites to more companies that I turned down… Of all of the interviews I actually participated in I received 4 offers and narrowed it down to 1 based mostly on culture and the people. The interviews I’ve been on recently have ranged from live coding, take-home tests, codility.com tests, SQL word doc tests, etc. Below are two I completed which you can use as a reference of what to expect. Take a look at how I answered questions I did not know. FYI these are both from companies I received either an offer from (Sapphire) or a invite to last round and the position was closed (ouch!) (Sumitovant).

gino_sapphire_data_engineer_test.pdf (640.5 KB)
sumitovant.py (2.7 KB)

To give you an idea, my success rate with the coding challenges was about 90%. What I did to prepare:
SQL: Dataquest’s practice problems for SQL - do them. All of them! Even if you think you’re good, you can always do better. Time is important and getting good at writing subqueries efficiently, is huge as a time clock starts to roll down. v