Appreciate your feedback and suggestions on my guided project : Visualizing The Gender Gap In College Degrees

Hi everyone,

I just finished my guided project : Visualizing The Gender Gap In College Degrees. As a newbie, I would like to use these projects to gain more experience and knowledge in my data science journey.
I would really appreciate if any of you can review my project and give me a feedback on my work.
Thank your and Regards
Scylla

Gender-Gap.ipynb (965.9 KB)

Click here to view the jupyter notebook file in a new tab

4 Likes

Hi @Scylla,

Good to see you again. It is an interesting project indeed. I like how you have structured it.

But I was wondering if it would be better if you had deviated from the instructions like you have done for the initial structuring of the project and combined all the plot aetestic imporvement into one code block.

That way you wouldn’t be repeating a bunch of lines again and again just to make a few ticks and lines disappear.

A few things that might be useful to know are.

ax1.tick_params(bottom="off", top="off", left="off", right="off", labelbottom='off')

Some times depending your version, On/Off might not work. Then you can try True/False

#Removes the spines for the all axis of all plots in first column
    ax1.spines["top"].set_visible(False)
    ax1.spines["right"].set_visible(False)
    ax1.spines["bottom"].set_visible(False)
    ax1.spines["left"].set_visible(False)

The above mentioned code can be changed to

for spine in ax.spines.values():   # Removing all 4 spines of a plot
        spine.set_visible(False)

Since ax.spines is stored as a dictionary, we can access the keys and values. So by using .values() you can select each spine and apply an operation.

You can alternatively use

for key,spine in ax.spines.items():      
        spine.set_visible(False)

I think that’s all from my side.