Boolean Indexing

Hello all,

I am practising boolean indexing in pandas intro section " Exploring Data with pandas: Fundamentals" and I’m at the end of the task where the instructions are to " Create a series, industry_usa , containing counts of the two most common values in the industry column for companies headquartered in the USA".

the correct code is apparently

industry_usa = f500['industry'][f500['country'] == 'USA'].value_counts().head(2)
sector_china = f500["sector"][f500["country"] == "China"].value_counts().head(3)

There has been no example where we use indexing as described above.

Why can we suddenly use series one after the other i.e f500[‘industry’][f500[‘country’]. The back to back series calling is something I didn’t know we could do. Could someone please explain why this works?

https://app.dataquest.io/m/381/exploring-data-with-pandas%3A-fundamentals/12/challenge-top-performers-by-country

Thank you in advance

P.S I’m very new to this.

8 Likes

This is how i like to visualise it:
industry_usa =f500[f500['country'] == 'USA']['industry'].value_counts().head(2)

So recall f500["industry"] is one way to select a series from the dataframe. [f500['country'] == "USA"] creates the boolean indexer for filtering the selected series. So the value_counts() method is called on the filtered series.
Hope this will be helpful.

1 Like

Thanks for the response Austin. I think I understand. But why is there no comma separating [f500[‘country’] == ‘USA’] and [‘industry’]? as in ([f500[‘country’] == ‘USA’] , [‘industry’]) Also, why are we not using loc for this? I appreciate the help.

3 Likes

There are more than one way to do things. This is syntactic flavour. dataframe[column_name] is the common way of selecting a series. So in this syntax, you specify that you want rows that match the given criteria. The " , " is used in loc & .iloc to sepecify the row and the column part. So,