Career Decision in limbo

Hello everyone,

My name is Joe and I’m completely new to Python (and any other programming language really).

I’m a Transportation Planner that has been working the same job for the past ten years with very little advancement in salary (ahem… it’s a state job). My problem with the lack of movement is because I became too comfortable for too long in the same position. Now that I am married and have two children I’m starting to realize that ‘I need to make more money’.

As a transportation planner I deal extensively with traffic simulation software and data management using Excel ( I am MOS certified). With that I developed a love in dealing with data, learning new tips/tricks in Excel, functions, and Macros. Despite trying to find another job with the same tasks - I am unable to find something that pays more than what I make. I realized that if I learn a high-demand data-oriented language (such as Python) I will be able to jazz-up my resume thus making me more attractable. But I still have doubts whether this is a wise strategy or not.

I am still unsure if learning only Python (although I am enjoying it) is going to do anything in regards to boosting my salary if I find another job. Or perhaps I can do side-gigs with Python to help increase my income?

I guess I’d like anyone’s input if they are in the same conundrum as I am and any advice/recommendation would be very helpful. At this point, I finished my first ‘guided course’ in Python which was very enjoyable. I just am not sure if this is the right track for me if I am trying to do what I need to do.

Thanks
Joe

@Career_Assistants any advice for @joe.shaer?

Dear Joe,

Python has a lot of applications in daily life and I’m completely sure that as transportation planner you will improve a lot your analysis and take more efficient decisions. So, I recommend to you the follow: