Clarification needed on Gradient Descent

Course Link for reference:
https://app.dataquest.io/c/41/m/237/gradient-descent/1/introduction

I just started learning Gradient Descent today and I need clarification on couple of things to proceed further. Appreciate a response.

In page 1, we aim to minimize the following function.

Screen Shot 2021-11-16 at 11.15.10 AM

How did this equation become y power i in the next page (page 2)? (screenshot below for reference)

Screen Shot 2021-11-16 at 11.17.49 AM

In page no 3, what is a1_list for and why are we choosing alpha as 10?

a1_list = [1000]
alpha = 10

In the solution code in the same page, alpha is chosen as .0000003 and a1_initial as 150. And I don’t understand why? Please help understand.

Regards,
Brindha

Just to clarify, it’s not “y to the power i” in mathematical terms(if that was confusing from a mathematical perspective).

It is simply a different way to represent the same thing, but could depend on the context as well.

• y_i could correspond to a single value or a vector.

• y^{(i)} could correspond to a single value or a vector

• y^{(i)}_m could correspond to a vector y^{(i)} with a specific value in that vector at the m^{th} index.

I have seen variations of these across different content (outside of DQ). So, look at the context of what it’s supposed to represent and move forward from there.

I haven’t gone through that content to be sure, but I would still recommend that you use the ? button in the top-right corner of the classroom to provide feedback about this to them because I think there should be either consistency with the notations or, at least, clarification on the change in notation.

a1_list is a list that stores the values of a1. In the first iteration a1 is set to 1000. The derivative is calculated and a new a1 is obtained. That new a1 is then added to the a1_list. In the second iteration th derivative is calculated at the new a1 and so on.