Screen Link:
Guided Project: Prison Break β€” Extracting The Year | Dataquest

My Code:

Replace this line with your code

What I expected to happen:

What actually happened:

Replace this line with the output/error

Hi @skkirkes

I was reading your question. Is this the entire code?

I am not sure. I am very new to python and it has been challenging. I was trying to get information into the community chat yesterday and it was not clear exactly what I need to include. Is there a tutorial for me to rear or show me what to include?

I believe this is my code that I am having trouble with:

for row in data:
date = fetch_year(row[0])
row[0] = date

print(data[:3])

This is my error message:

IndexError Traceback (most recent call last)
in
1 for row in data:
----> 2 date = fetch_year(row[0])
3 row[0] = date
5 print(data[:3])

IndexError: list index out of range

I am working on Prison Break Guided Project and I have the answer key. It appears to match what I have, but I am not getting the result they have.

I am confused on when to use certain characters (i.e. parentheses, equal signs/double equal signs, brackets, etc.). I am trying to stay with it, but it is hard.

Any help is much appreciated.

Thank you, Scott

2 Likes

Hi Scott,

Welcome to the Community!

As for the first part of your question:

I was trying to get information into the community chat yesterday and it was not clear exactly what I need to include. Is there a tutorial for me to rear or show me what to include?

You can find useful this post:

Happy learning! :nerd_face:

Hi @skkirkes

I felt the same way. The different signs or syntax are confusing in the beginning. Give yourself some grace and be proud of yourself for starting a new programming language which is not an easy feat. Here is a dataquest class that will help you with the signs and syntax.

As for the signs and symbols, each sign can have multiple use cases. I included a link to a full dataquest class that goes into details.