Act fast, special offers end soon! Up to $294 is savings when you get Premium today.
Get offer codes

Conditional Assignment

Screen Link: Learn data science with Python and R projects

fire_first = fire_only[0]
water_first = water_only[0]

for rows in fire_only:
    if rows[23] < fire_first[23]:
        rows[23] = fire_first
        fire_starter_pick = fire_first[0]
        print (fire_starter_pick)

for row in water_only:
    if row[23] < water_starter_pick[23]:
        row[23] = water_first
        water_starter_pick = water_first[0]
        print (water_starter_pick)

I am extremely new to python here. Can someone explain how to find the min and max value without using min and max. Furthermore, how do you find the name of the value?

Hi @kwong.victoriaa and welcome to the community!

Unfortunately I cannot access the link you provided in order to get some more context for your question. It appears to be one of the new assessments and so, perhaps, it is in beta testing and only a handful of people currently have access to it and you are one of them! :sunglasses:

That said, I will try to answer your question as best I can without having access to this screen.

One strategy here would be to initialize a variable with the first element in your list and then loop through your entire list to compare each element to this variable. If you come across an element that is greater/less than this variable, update the variable with this new element.

I’m not quite sure what you’re asking here…can you explain this a little more?

EDIT_1:
I helped to create some of these assessments and as such was able to find the problem you’re working on so I now have a better understanding of what you are trying to do here.

It looks like you’ve got the right idea with your code but there’s a couple things we should take a look at. In particular, this chunk of code:

for rows in fire_only:
        rows[23] = fire_first