Creating CTE table in SQL not working

I have tried creating a CTE table through wrapping up a select statement with the appropriate CTE expression (i.e. using 'WITH HI_table1 AS + brackets) but this didn’t run and came with syntax error in SQL server. the code works with the select statement so I don’t see why it doesn’t work when I then turn it into a CTE, is there something wrong?
My Code:

WITH HI_table1 AS
(

SELECT 
t1.x
, t1.y

FROM Table 1 AS t1 
LEFT JOIN Table 2 AS t2
ON t1.a= t2.a 
)

What actually happened:

Msg 103010, Level 16, State 1, Line 10
Parse error at line: 1, column: 1: Incorrect syntax near ','.

I’m not good with SQL, but from looking at you code, there doesn’t seem to be anything wrong.

Are you writing the code within DQ’s platform or is it on your own computer?

And what happens if you add SELECT * FROM HI_table1 after the whole WITH block?

this is run on my own computer in MS SQL server

thanks for your response :slight_smile:

if you run a SELECT * after WITH that wouldn’t follow the right syntax, which doesn’t have s further SELECT statement.
https://www.sqlshack.com/sql-server-common-table-expressions-cte/

2 Likes

This should work.

Either I’m misunderstanding what you’re saying, or this is incorrect. Can you please try it and report back?

2 Likes

Oh I see.

Yeah, I suggested that based on what I read here: WITH common_table_expression (Transact-SQL) - SQL Server | Microsoft Learn.

Though looking at your link, there seems to be a SELECT after the WITH.

;with ROWCTE(ROWNO) as  
   (  
     SELECT 
  ROW_NUMBER() OVER(ORDER BY name ASC) AS ROWNO
FROM sys.databases 
WHERE database_id <= 10
    )  

SELECT * FROM ROWCTE 

It’s not directly after WITH, but after the whole code that is part of WITH.

Also, do you have two aliases for each table?

FROM Table 1 AS t1 
LEFT JOIN Table 2 AS t2
2 Likes

OK, it’s working!