Going fast! #DataquestChallenge Premium Annual Offer:
500 get 50% & the next 1000 get 40% off.
GET OFFER CODE

Data and sustainable development: The case for world changers in a digital world

When I graduated as a Sustainable Development Engineer in 2018, little did I imagine that my career would be driven to the world of data. I am glad it did. Data is becoming a powerful tool to solve some of the world’s biggest problems in the 21st century. If you are an enthusiast of sustainability and development, like myself, I hope to convince you to start learning data analytics yourself. And if you are already a data professional, I hope to inspire you to start using your superpowers to help make progress on such issues.

I landed my first post-college job as an analyst at a startup based in Mexico City. I have not stopped working with data a single day since I started working there. I am lucky to be able to apply my previous knowledge in data projects related to energy and water usage efficiency, an issue with a growing importance in our world. Chances are if you are working on issues related to development or sustainability, you will also be faced up with huge amounts of data at some point in time.

Data science has become a hot topic, present to some degree or another within any company seeking to become more competitive. Less known is the importance that data analysis has grown in projects related to sustainability and humanitarian development. Be it energy access, water availability, biodiversity conservation or even energy efficiency, it is hard to imagine any significant progress in any of these topics without reliable, available, and open data for scientists and curious minds alike to analyze. Data is also becoming incredibly useful for organizations aiming to solve some of the world’s most pressing challenges, and a great opportunity for skilled professionals to volunteer and put their abilities to practice while helping others.