eBay car auction data project

Hi, community; this is the first project that I have shared here. It’s also my first time using NumPy and Pandas for data analysis. I’m new to the DS path, but I love it. It took me a while since I hadn’t learned how to create graphs and the scientific method to drop outliers, but I google it, so it was fun!

The project is the eBay car Sales: Learn data science with Python and R projects

Here are a couple of resources that help me:

Basics.ipynb (327.2 KB)

I’m really open to feedback, so please let me know if you have any.

Click here to view the jupyter notebook file in a new tab

2 Likes

Congratulations on your first project. It’s looks good.

1 Like

Thank you so much @rhemamichael9 !

Hi @as4! Thanks for sharing your project with the Community!

I’m really pleased that you had fun with it :slight_smile: It’s one of the best parts of data analysis (and data cleaning). I’m doing my PhD at the moment and I have to Google so many things every day, that I am thinking of starting a Jupyter notebook where I’ll write all the code I google frequently. And thanks for sharing these resources with us.

I am also happy to see that you tried out matplotlib although it was not in the guidelines! That shows your great initiative.

A few suggestions and observations from my side:

• Be more specific about what you want to achieve from this project. You may not know it at the beginning (but only after the exploratory analysis) but make sure you say that after you’ve finished the project so that we have a clear view of what goal you are trying to reach. These clear goals will also enable you to remove the irrelevant columns right at the beginning and not spend time cleaning them
  • That’s nice that you’ve done some background research on the average odometer value. I think it’s a good proxy to evaluate the age of a typical used car