eBay Car Sales Data -JF

Hi all,

This is my first guided project I’m sharing for review! I’m new to this so I’ll appreciate any and all feedback. Thank you!

https://app.dataquest.io/m/294/guided-project%3A-exploring-ebay-car-sales-data/9/next-steps

Basics.ipynb (30.8 KB)

Click here to view the jupyter notebook file in a new tab

2 Likes

Hi @jesseba.fernando,

Welcome to the community and congratulations on finishing this guided project.

Your project looks good. But there are a few things that caught my attention.

• It would have been great if you could give a bit more of context about the project in the introduction. You have already given a couple of lines using the markdown cell, which is great.
  • You have used str.replace() method along with for loop to rename the columns. This is one way to do it for sure. But if you’re using
    dataframe.rename({'oldname':'new_name'},axis=1, inplace=True) it would be easier and you don’t need a loop.

The whole code will look like this

autos.rename({'dateCrawled':'date_crawled', 
             'offerType':'offer_type', 
             'abtest':'ab_test',
             'vehicleType':'vehicle_type', 
             'yearOfRegistration':'reg_year',
             'powerPS':'power_ps',
             'monthOfRegistration':'reg_month',
             'fuelType':'fuel_type',
             'notRepairedDamage':'not_repaired_damage',
             'dateCreated':'date_created',
             'nrOfPictures':'no_of_pictures',
             'postalCode':'postal_code',
             'lastSeen':'last_seen'}, axis=1, inplace=True)

With Registration year, I think we can accept cars with reg_year as 2016 since data is crawled in 2016.

From the way you have written the pandas code, I can sense that you know quite a lot about Pandas library. Maybe you were on a rush to finish this project. Anyway hope this feedback helps.

Hi @jithins123,