Guided Project 1 - Slide 5, Need further explanation, stumped

Hello,

This is my first time posting, let me know if there are better ways for me to go about this. I have started Dataquest with a little coding background (I went through Python Crash Course by Eric Matthes earlier this year).

I am on slide 5 of the first guided project in Removing Duplicate Entries: Part Two, I am having a hard time trying to write specifically what this code means and what it does. Right now it is not something I am understanding by looking at it and the context.

reviews_max = {}

for app in google:
name = app[0]
n_reviews = float(app[3])

if name in reviews_max and reviews_max[name] < n_reviews:
    reviews_max[name] = n_reviews

elif name not in reviews_max:
    reviews_max[name] = n_reviews

We are looping through the Google data set (without the header) and have created a dictionary (reviews_max) and singling out two keys (name and n_reviews). The if statement is looking if name is already in reviews_max but also checking to see if the number of reviews in reviews_max is less than the number of reviews of the specific name in the Google data set? If not, then that is not a duplicate and should be thrown into reviews_max. (This is one I need help with, I tried bolding it)

android_clean =
already_added =

for app in google:
name = app[0]
n_reviews = float(app[3])

if (reviews_max[name] == n_reviews) and (name not in already_added):
    android_clean.append(app)
    already_added.append(name)

Then for this we created two lists. I understand, from the solutions, that there could be duplicates of apps with the same number of the highest reviews. I cannot figure out why you append (app) to android_clean and (name) to already_added.

Maybe I am thinking too hard but I am stumped with this, I guess I am hoping someone can explain what reviews_max[name] < n_reviews means as well as the two appends.

Thank you so much,

Kevin