Act fast, special offers end soon! Up to $294 is savings when you get Premium today.
Get offer codes

How can a variable check through an empty dictionary

Screen Link: Learn data science with Python and R projects

My Code:

ratings = ['4+', '4+', '4+', '9+', '9+', '12+', '17+']

for c_rating in ratings:
    if c_rating in content_ratings:
        content_ratings[c_rating] += 1
    else:
        content_ratings[c_rating] = 1
    print(content_ratings)

print('Final dictionary:')
print(content_ratings)
Replace this line with your code

What I expected to happen:
This is where my confusion lies: as a beginner python coder, i want to know how the variable c-rating under the if statement can check through an empty dictionary and if it exists, then increment same key value by 1

What actually happened:

Replace this line with the output/error
1 Like

The dictionary is empty but that doesn’t mean it does not exist. It is still possible to check whether or not an item is present inside that dictionary.

The if condition checks whether c_rating is a key in the dictionary or not. And if the dictionary is empty, that means that key is not present in that dictionary. And if it’s not present in the dictionary, the code adds that key to the dictionary and sets a value of 1 for that key. Let me know if that clears the confusion or not.

1 Like

I understand the explanation but consider this “if c_rating in content_ratings:” i presume this means, if the iteration variable “c_ratings” exist in content_ratings? if this is true do “content_ratings[c_rating] += 1”. i tried to figure out the code and i noticed if the iteration variable goes into the empty dictionary and where it finds the key example “4+”, it increments the value by “1”. How does it find the key in an empty dictionary to increment same?

1 Like