How I learnt Data Science, worked as a freelance writer and found my first data job

This was supposed to be a small topic in the community. I just wanted to share some good news with everyone, but when I started writing I felt that I had more to share. So I wrote about my journey to achieve the I had just achieved and the topic got too big that it became this article. This is my story with programming, data science, and Dataquest. I hope you like it.

My first contact with coding

This is the topic that I’ve always wanted to create. Over a year ago (January 2020) I started learning Python on YouTube. The idea was to add another tool to my resume that would help me get my first job.

My only contact with code had happened in a C++ class back in college, 8 years ago and I had never written a line of code since. Because of that, programming seemed a bit scary for me, but I had free time and was eager to learn, and so I took on the challenge. But yes, it was very hard at the beginning. The word “code” was a bit frightening to me. I mean if it’s code, if it’s encoded then I shouldn’t be able to understand it, right? But I kept going.

Discovering Data Science and Dataquest

While I was learning Python on YouTube, I remember reading somewhere that I should learn SQL as well. I didn’t have a clue what SQL was. I found a free course on it, though, and started to write my first selects. This was when I got familiar with the term Data Science and then I found out about Dataquest. This changes everything.

After a one-month subscription, I was granted a six-month scholarship that allowed me to go through the entire Data Scientist path. Sometimes I think I wouldn’t have made it without this help, so thank you DQ, a lot!