I hope this is not a problem, but I scraped the Community

Hello everyone!

[EDIT]
(The code is now available in this GitHub repository.)

So, I’ve been active in the Dataquest community for about a month now. I started to visit the community more often after I was accepted for the Covid-19 Financial Aid Scholarship. Being accepted for the program made me feel really grateful for being helped during these tough times everybody is going through and so I felt like I should put on more efforts to help others. That is why I started visiting the community to see if I could help someone. I thought that if I could help other students with their questions, I would be helping not only the student whose question I’d answer but the platform that helped me in the first place.

I’m not a python expert or an experienced data scientist or anything like that. I’m just a Dataquest student like most of you and so I was not sure whether I was capable of answering people’s questions. But as it turns out, I was.

As I kept answering questions I notice that I was also helping myself by doing it, since I had to revisit something I had already studied or even learn something new to answer a question. After that ,I caught myself typing community.dataquest.io in my browser several times a day and having fun doing it. So I thought of way to optimize my time and the help I was providing: I wrote a web scraper to notify me via email every time a new question was posted in the community.

The pros of this are:

• I practiced scraping;
• I do not need to check the website manually all the time anymore;
• Students can have their question answered (if I’m capable of answering it, of course) faster. And I
know that when you are stuck it’s easy to get demotivated, especially if you rely on the community
to have some answers and need to wait hours or days to maybe receive an answer that allows
you to move on.

And the cons are… well, I don’t see any.