Installed Jupyter does not give any output

Hi,
I just installed jupyter (both notebook and lab) to be able to do further analysis in the guided projects. I opened the *.ipynb file, but when I run the cells, there is no output at all. Ex: df.head() will no give any output.
What am I doing wrong? I tried to find a solution on the internet but I just found more people with the same problem and no solution to it.
Also, why do you recommend using jupyter? I am new to it but I hate it already. It is not better something like Rstudio for R? IDLE? No idea :S I just hate jupyter :wink:
Thanks!!

Hi @ncirauqu,

I installed Anaconda, with Python and Jupyter already included, and use Jupyter from there without problems.

I have all of them installed, and all work, but no output. I do not know if it could be problems with different versions of python. I have python 2.7 as default. I did something I found on the internet and now I have the option in jupyter to select an environment of python3 as kernel (if I understood right). But still, nothing, no change.
Actually, I am getting errors when I run jupyter:
Uncaught exception GET /api/kernels/…
No idea :frowning:

Hello @ncirauqu,

For anyone to better assist you, need more details about the OS(Windows, Linux/Mac) you are using and how you installed python.
If your default python is 2.7, I’m assuming you’re on Mac/Linux?
Also, it would be helpful if you can specify if you used any virtual environments?

Even though you can select Python 3 in Jupyter, running !python --version in a code cell will reveal the underlying python version.

To keep the integrity of different python versions, I recommend this excellent article on why it’s important to have virtual environments.
If you already know about it, you can skip it.

If it’s your own python installation: