Machile Learning Problem::: Ideas

Hello!

I am studying some machine learning models with some data sets that I have found on the internet. I found one quite interesting and it has me stuck without achieving a solution.
The main difficulty with this data set is that there are only cars that were made in China in the training data set. While in the test data set there are cars made in China and the US. The goal is to predict whether the car is made in China or the US and then predict how long the car will last.

Do you have any idea how to identify the country that made these cars?

Training data set has the following variables: Weight, Price, Length, Origin (All from China), Planned number of years to last.
Test data set: Weight, Price, Length.

Thank you!

1 Like

Hi @oscar.p.ordenes,

While I am not a machine learning expert, My approach would be to:

And then, based on my findings, add some artificial rows of US cars to the training data.

Best,
Sahil

As you’ve pointed out, you don’t really have what you need for supervised machine learning.
Seems like there are a few next-best options.

As Sahil mentioned, you can try to improve the training set - right now it can’t help you differentiate between manufacture in US and China because it only has one.

Depending on what you’re doing, you can re-shuffle the training and test sets and make sure the new training set is a stratified sample, or use a technique like leave-one-out cross validation to build a model on all the data (although you won’t be able to validate how well the data generalizes, since you’ve used all your data to build the model).