My DataQuest Story -COVID-19 scholarship

Hello!

I had the opportunity to receive the valuable COVID-19 scholarship from DataQuest. My background is in economics and had a bit knowledge about programming. Some Stata regressions on econometrics courses. I live in a Latin American and there has been lots of support from the government on Data Science awareness. Every year the government launches a Data Science For All intensive course, taught by US based company Correlation One.

My plan is to first go through the Data Analyst and Data Science Python paths in the next 6-9 months. My economics and statistics experience gave me a solid base to begin with. Nevertheless, DQ allows anyone to start programming from zero. The reading and programming methodology has been very insightful and rewarding.

By next year, with the lessons learned on DQ I will be eligible to be part of the Data Science For All intensive course and continues implementing this significant field into my professional career.

Thanks DQ for improving my career and job prospects! Over my journey, I will be updating this post :slight_smile:

13 Likes

Hello!

I also received the COVID-19 scholarship , my background is also in economics, I also used Stata regressions on econometrics courses and I am also from Latin America. The only differnce is that my country’s government hates sciences :disappointed_relieved:

Where are you from?

Welcome to the community!

2 Likes

Oi Otavio,

Muito prazer! Lots of coincidences, I am from Medellin, Colombia. Thanks for your embracing welcome. I’ve been actively working on the missions so far, and now I’m starting to participate more in the forum. Im glad to see fellows with similar a similar background on DQ. What are your plans with Data Science?

O prazer é meu! I’m sure you’ll learn a lot from the missions and here in the forum. Dataquest community is awesome!