New to Data Quest!

Hey guys,

My name is Rohan and I am new to Data Quest and have an interest in the data field but have no experience and I am starting from scratch. I just started yesterday and I am 4 modules in and I felt good at first but I am feeling very iffy after the third and fourth modules. I kind of got what was going on but at the same time, I felt that mostly everything after the “for loops” concept was difficult to understand. I got through these modules and I would get close to the answers for most of them but sometimes it would be a stupid mistake or a major one in terms of me forgetting a function. I got through these modules by using mostly hints and after about a while I would just give up and seek the answer and figure out why it was the way it was and it totally made way more sense. Did any of you guys find yourself struggling like this? If so, what did you do to understand theses concepts? Whether it was doing it all over again, or analyzing the logics behind the answers etc. I do not want to learn like this especially for the harder concepts. Also for those of you that self taught yourselves, did you guys do the modules first and then the sample questions and the projects? Or, was it some other format? Any study tips and study formats are greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
Rohan

1 Like

Hi @rohanpatel749 and welcome to the DQ community!

I started DataQuest from scratch as well about 8-9 months ago. Although I would consider myself a “technophile,” I had no previous experience in coding and thus had similar feelings to yours starting out. I felt good for the first few missions and then noticed I was looking at the answer after being stuck for a while. This really made me feel bad…but I realize now it shouldn’t have!