Novice help needed functions

Dear All,
Apologies for the post, but I am new to Python and apart from getting seriously disheartened with the Dataquest course because of constant errors and no help from Dataquest (although I have emailed quite a few times), I am struggling with the intermediate section on functions.
I hope that someone out there might be able to help me as my confidence is hitting bottom.
In the explanation regarding Memory Isolation, Dataquest got me to code (although I couldn’t) a def function to show that a variable defined within a function is temporarily held in memory. So when you recall the function, the variable is not defined anymore. E.g.

When print_constant() is called, x = 3.14 is indeed executed, but the quirk is that Python only saves the x variable temporarily . Python saves x into a kind of temporary memory , which is immediately erased after the print_constant() finishes running.

But then the explanation states:
The temporary memory associated with a function is isolated from the memory associated with the main program. The consequence of this is that we can initialize a variable x = 10 in the main program, and then execute x = 3.14 in the body of a function without overwriting the x variable of the main program.

The last part seems to contradict the first explanation and now I am increasingly confused and frustration levels are on the up. It appears to me (looking at the screen grabs Dataquest uses), x = 10 outside the function appears to allow x = 3.14 to be defined inside the function and therefore both x = 10 and x = 3.14 are printed.

Why isn’t x = 3.14 forgotten?

Please help as I want to conquer (or be able to use it more like!) Python which has been the bane of my life!

You can use http://www.pythontutor.com/visualize.html#mode=edit to visualise how it works to better understand the code.

1 Like