Now you can write SQL on Excel and CSV files directly

Noteable is a newer Notebook platform that lets you write SQL directly on Excel or CSV files. No need to upload files to a server, create a table, then insert data into the table…

Try it on noteable.io

Here is an example notebook: https://app.noteable.io/f/2d4395fe-a6bf-473d-aee5-4ecbb715eaa5/Use-SQL-to-query-CSV-files-and-Dataframes-.ipynb

4 Likes

Hi @hellodataworld,

Thank you for sharing the link to Noteable. Have you found some use cases within your workflow where you are using Noteable .

I am going to dig a little deeper but I can think of so many ways this is more helpful than having to create tables first. I don’t want to sound “too extreme” but this seems like a big deal and a huge help but I am new to all the available data tools outside of Jupyter .

Thanks for sharing…

2 Likes

Yes, I do believe this is HUGE.

I have been an analyst → statistician → data scientist → data science manager → director for over 12 years and I can tell you first hand that in all those roles, this would have been a game changer.

Use Case # 1: When you capture data at a point from database, aggregate it, and want to store it in a flexible manner. In these cases, you write the query, extract the data and store as CSV files (or excel). In most of my impactful projects, I have never worked with a file that is less than 1 GB. You can’t explore files of that size in Excel without pulling a couple of hair out. Being able to write SQL to then explore and further aggregate CSV/Excel datasets is a huge convenience.

Use Case # 2: When you are prototyping, a large part of the work happens in CSV files. A data scientist rarely has the time to go set up static tables in DBs - its just a non value add activity to have the data and the create a copy of that data in the DB just to be able to use that data.