CYBER WEEK - EXTRA SAVINGS EVENT
TRY A FREE LESSON

Open Source Paid Internship Opportunity

Hi folks,

Outreachy is a paid, remote internship program aiming to support people from groups underrepresented in tech.

Applications for the Dec '21 to March '22 cohort is currently open. If you’ve ever heard of Google Summer of Code, this is very similar but you don’t need to be a student to apply.

• 3 months
  • Fully remote
  • $6000 USD stipend
  • Plenty of data-related projects at open source communities such as Mozilla, Wikimedia, TensorFlow, Fedora, and many more.

I’m a current Outreachy intern with the Wikimedia Foundation and I cannot recommend this program enough. Over the summer, I’ve been working on a Python package for parsing SQL dump files, written Jupyter notebook tutorials on how to work with Wikimedia data, presented at the Wikimedia annual conference, and more.

This program is offered twice a year to accomodate for students from both hemispheres – although as I said above, being a student is not a requirement. Many participants are career changers, or people getting back into tech after a longer break, etc.

If you have any questions, post them here. You can also DM me either here, or on Twitter.
https://twitter.com/iamslavina

2 Likes

Good morning @Slaving. I’m glad you posted this message and always happy and motivated to see females in tech! I’m Francisca from Nigeria and currently began learning data analysis and python.mostly through free online courses like this dataquest, and youtube videos because I do not have the money to Please how do I apply for intern as here in Nigeria, there are very few females who are into data analysis and Python. I would love to learn from you too! This is my number +2348039621900 for watsapp and telegram.sorry, recently I can’t seem to log into my twitter account.