Overwhelmed myself

Hi all Data Science community;
I am so glad to be part of this great community of support. I am coming from a biology major (bachelor and master); I am thinking of career change in the next 2 years. I have joined DataQuest in January; and I really love their methods of teaching.I have been dealing with this issue since I started learning about data science and would appreciate any feedback from anyone.
This issue is that I have been collecting many and many data science resources; I have been in the loop of collecting resources without really studying; looking back to my data science study progress; I have found my self only finished the fundamental course of python in 4 months. I spent most of my times; I spend it collecting resources.
If someone here has dealt with this issue; I would really appreciate your advise in how to stop it and move forward with studying.

I know that not many complain about such an issue; but I really struggle with this issue.

Thank you everyone and stay safe.

5 Likes

Hi jehan.lina.

I partly understand your problem, because in the years that I have been working with Python, I have saved a lot of resources and information about it… never open.
Therefore, my recommendations will be as follows.

1. Determine for yourself a list of really important literature that you want to read for the beginning of no more than 3 books that you will decide to devote time to in the coming months and the knowledge of which you need right now. This can be an in-depth understanding of Python. Statistics. Recommendations for data visualization.
  2. Set yourself real and interesting tasks in which data science and python will help you. Learning skills without reinforcement in real life often leads to a decline in interest. Having a real task and facing problems on the way to solve it, you will be forced to look for exactly the information that you need now.