Going fast! #DataquestChallenge Premium Annual Offer:
500 get 50% & the next 1000 get 40% off.
GET OFFER CODE

Physical Education teacher to Sales Engineer for a Cybersecurity startup

Hey DQ Community!

I wanted to share my story so far in changing to a career in Data/ IT! As I know it would have been helpful for me to hear.

I am a fully qualified teacher in Physical Education, however, I wanted to try a new direction and found coding. After using DQ and other learning tools since September 2020, I am now working as a Sales Engineer for a Cybersecurity Start-up. Where I code everyday!

So, if you are that person who is losing hope or struggling then I promise you it is possible to make the switch no matter your previous background.

The things I learned along the way include:

• Always ask for feedback and act upon it - then re-email that person proving how you improved (this is literally how I got my job). I applied, got denied, asked for feedback, they gave it to me, acted on it, emailed 3 months later, and they gave a me job.
  • Start applying for jobs now. I still have not finished a DQ path, but I am committed too!
  • There are more than just Data Analyst jobs - such as support engineer, pre-sales, etc. they all require you to code. Opening my horizon helped.
  • Showing your passion in the interview! I know it sounds far-fetched but I got 2 interviews simply because they loved my energy (their words not mine). Learn how to interview well!
  • Figure out who you know, I got a few connections with big firms simply by knowing people (didn’t work out but could for you!)
  • Now figure out your current experience! I started to realize that there were tech companies focused on Education, I found myself targeting them. As some seemed to like my educational background with an ability to code.