BLACK FRIDAY EXTRA SAVINGS EVENT - EXTENDED
START FREE

[Please help] Guided Project: Profitable App Profiles for the App Store and Google Play Markets

Hello everyone,

I’m working on the first Guided project: Profitable App Profiles for the App Store and Google Play Markets, reading the solution but still fail to understand 2 things:

1. rows_and_columns=False - Why do we need it here and if we don’t use it, what can happen?
  2. explore_data(android, 0, 3, True): To my understanding, we already set android = android[1:] in the previous code line. Therefore, it’s supposed to print 4 lines of data: 0,1,2,3, why does it only print 3?

I’m a newbie trying to figure out the logic of the machine and abit struggling. :smiley:

Thanks in advance for your help!!

Hi VanGiang,

first of all: i think topics regarding guided projects should be posted in the category ‘share’ → ‘guided project’.

Nonetheless:

1. the parameter rows_and_columns is False by default, meaning if you do not supply an input for this parameter when calling the function it will be False.
    The last part of the defined function ‘explore_data’ checks whether rows_and_columns is True.
    If this is the case then it will print the number of rows and columns.
    If it is False nothing will be printed.
    Since the default is False this part of the function will only be executed when you supply True as an input for parameter rows_and_columns when calling the function.

2. When slicing a list like a_list[a:b] the list will contain a until b, so b itself will not be included.
    So android[0:3] will show row 0, 1 and 2.

Kind regards,

Hi leonhekkert,

Thanks for your response. I definitely will pay attention to the folder next time :smiley:

Your responses are very clear to me about why the function work!

However, I still don’t understand why we need rows_and_columns parameter in this case to begin with. What i mean is: what’d be the issue if we just write

print(‘Number of row:’, len(dataset))