Prison Break total fail on nested iteration- want to understand the naming conventions

hey folks-
first week in learning python- 2nd week learning any type of code at all. total newbie for all purposes here.

working through the prison break project, and wound up with a total fail. spent probably and hour because i was following the instructions too closely without just letting myself write the code. i understood the process the code should be running, just wasnt sure how to express it. sticking to the names/variables provided kept me from figuring it out on my own.

link to instructions

so for some reason the thing we’re looking at in attempts/year list of list is referred to as ‘ya’ here in the ‘for’ iteration line. that was totally nonsensical to me, and made me think i didnt understand the problem. once i gave up and searched for answers i saw other folks just used their own naming systems and then i instantly got it. the instructions seemd badly arranged, and once moved around it all worked.

so my question is this- who/what/how is this ‘thing’ in an iteration line named? should it refer to something in particular? is it usually derived from some other variable/list/etc? what’s the ‘best’ way to understand how to apply names for the sake of clarity and logic? this is all new to me so any explanation of common or typical naming conventions would be appreciated.

2 Likes

Hi @antlavia
First of all welcome to both the dataquest community and the data science community.

The best way to name the iterator in any for loop is using the singular name, if possible of the thing that you are going to loop through, so for example you have a list named “Numbers” the iterator could be named “Number” so you’d get For Number in Numbers, and it’s way more clear.