Problem 6 : Using the Same Key Multiple Times

Screen Link:
https://app.dataquest.io/m/1011/python-fundamentals-practice-problems/6/using-the-same-key-multiple-times

My Code:
keys = [1, 2, 1, 3, 1, 4]
values = [1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6]
d = {}
for i in range(len(keys)):
d[keys[i]] = values[i]

Replace this line with your code

What I expected to happen:

What actually happened:
Answer = 5

Replace this line with the output/error

Hi DQ Team,

I am very new to programming and DQ and doing the problem sets to understand better. For problem 6, is there anyone can explain the solution in detail? I am still not clear with the answer given.

Thank you for your time.
JJ

I want you to break your code down line-by-line first.

For each line, write down what you think is happening in that code line. Think about what that line of code does and write that down.

This is a very important step. Because it’s very easy for someone more experienced than you to just provide you the answer/explanation here, but that doesn’t necessarily ensure long-term learning that benefits you.

So,

• Read the code, line-by-line
  • Write down what each line of code does
  • When you get stuck and can’t explain to yourself what something in the code does, use basic print statements to test out how the variables in your code are being affected by that code line
  • Still can’t figure things out, ask about that code line specifically.

For this particular problem, you would require an understanding of -

• Lists
    • including how to access elements in a list using indexing
  • Dictionaries
    • including how to add/update the keys or values in a dictionary
  • For loops
  • The functions len() and range()

If you have any confusion about any of the above topics/concepts, then I first recommend that you make sure you understand those basics and tackle the problem again.

But start with explaining what you understand of the code so far.

3 Likes

Hello,