Product analytics case study

Hi All,

Looking for some help regarding a business case study I am trying to solve. I am new to this company and am trying my best to impress, so would love some ideas. For the sake of anonymity, I will be vague but will try to add details where I can.

Goal: How can we measure the value/impact of integrations to our business?

Background: Imagine we work for a chat company like Slack. Slack integrates with many different apps: Calendar apps (Google Calendar/Outlook), Zoom, JIRA, etc.

How can we go about answering this question of what is the value of these integrations

Some things I have thought about:

• We obviously can’t really just compare Group A (users who have these integrations installed) vs. Group B (users who do not have these integrations installed) because that doesn’t tell us anything - a lot of noise and bias there.

• It’s hard to A/B test these because you can’t just make someone use an integration

• Can we maybe run an A/B test where we send alerts to our test group to install/try integrations, and measure the engagement over time?

1 Like

I would try to split users into 2 similar groups and A/B test them.
There could be multiple meanings of value, I would start by looking at the current KPIs the business cares about. Maybe it’s the number of new users recommended by the existing pool, or the number of support calls received from existing users, or the number of new hashtags regarding the business shared by existing users.

I feel what’s difficult is maybe an activity requires a collection of items to be in place all at once for it to work, and that A/B testing only 1 integration at a time may not show the effectiveness of adding 1 integration alone, like how a bicycle needs wheels, chain, and rider to shift his weight on it to balance.

thank you for the response! i think you are hitting the nail when you talk about the difficulty A/B testing this.

but even thinking more about the design of this A/B test: