Python Help - Struggling

Hi All,

I was wondering if anyone has any recommendations on practice habits? I have zero experience with Python, and I am happy with Dataquest’s system. However, I feel overwhelmed and my comprehension seems to fall off the farther I get into a module (the more advanced it gets). It becomes debilitating when this happens. I know learning any new thing is difficult, especially something with such a steep learning curve.

I have read a few people recommending to study the notes and to start back at the top of the module, which I think is a great idea. Does anyone else have any other systematic practice habits that have helped them or someone else? Learning Python has been extremely tough, but I am still very motivated to keep pushing forward. I would love insight on effective practice habits that can help my progression from anyone that is willing to share them.

Thanks so much in advance!

8 Likes

Hi @NewCode:

I recommend that together with the Dataquest platform, you can choose to study it alongside with some other material to compliment your learning and keep your knowledge in check. Learning Python is not easy, if this is your first programming language, you may find it even more difficult. You may choose to create projects that interest you to keep you motivated to push on and learn more. Trust me, it won’t be easy, but the satisfaction after you have learnt and mastered the basic syntax is incredible!