BLACK FRIDAY EXTRA SAVINGS EVENT - EXTENDED
START FREE

Reminiscing my DataQuest Learning Journey.

Reminiscing My DataQuest Learning Journey

I have completed the Data Scientist Career Path in some 400 odd hours. I have no prior experience in programming although I mugged some C language programs long back to pass the exams. I started this with lots of self-doubts. I can’t brag that I mastered Data Science etc. I am still a novice who is giving his 2 cents here. So take my suggestions with ounces of salt. Keep my suggestions under scrutiny and take what’s useful to you.

1) Growth Mindset

At starting I was so terrified of programming with countless self-doubts swirling in my mind. " I have not understood this concept even an iota just by this reading it once. So I don’t have the talent to be a programmer." , "I am putting so much effort and more time to finish this course. Other learners are easily doing it. I am making so many mistakes while writing the code. So I am not smart to be a Data Scientist.’

Accidentally, I read the book ‘Mindset’ by Carol Dweck. It disabused many self-defeating beliefs and made me realize that I am harbouring a fixed mindset. People with this mindset believe in effortless perfection and successful traits are innate. Growth mindset people believe that skills are learned through persistent efforts and hard work. They don’t dislike doing mistakes and as it helps them learn from the feedback and become smarter rather than remaining smart forever by not trying.

I implore you to read the book ‘Mindset’ or at least watch this video once.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XgUF5WalyDk&t=1s

Don’t expect a miraculous change in your mindset by just reading this book. You change through a journey, not through a proclamation.

2) Neuroplasticity