Review: German used cars guided project

Hello everyone,

This is my first uploaded guided project since I started learning at dataquest.io. Please let me know if there is anything that could be improved. I really look forward to your feedback.

My project on github can be found here.
The file can be found here: Used car sales in Germany.ipynb (66.5 KB)

Best regards,
Ninh.

Click here to view the jupyter notebook file in a new tab

1 Like

Hi @ninh.luongkhanh,

Good project!

Your code is very well laid out and concise - very readable. I also like the use of headings to break the sections up.

I also liked some of the language (e.g., “Let’s take a look at the min and max values of the ‘price’ column to see if there are any anomalies.”). It shows you have a curious mindset, which leads to a rigor in your analysis. This comes in handy for data cleaning.

I also appreciate your work in going beyond the Guided Project and try to tackle the more interesting questions such as characterizing relationships between variables (e.g., price and odometer readings; damage and non-damage cars, etc).

A couple of next steps that I offer your to consider:

• You mentioned you encountered a ‘SettingWithCopyWarning’. You can resolve this by use .loc or using df.copy(). Check out this StackOverflow post for more details on what you keep getting the error.
  • I loved challenge #4 on trying to see the trends of price and mileage. One minor thing in your code:
    mileage_50k_150k = autos[(autos['odometer_km'] >= 50000) & (autos['odometer_km'] <= 100000)]['price'].mean()
    mileage_above_150k = autos[autos['odometer_km'] >= 100000]['price'].mean()

Be careful here because you are double counting vehicles with a odometer reading of 100,000 in both these groups. I believe you wanted < 100000 in the first line.