Sharing my first guided project

This is my first project here in dataquest and first overall in my path towards data science.

Basics.ipynb (82.0 KB)

Feel free to go through the code and provide your inputs
Looking forward to your comments

Click here to view the jupyter notebook file in a new tab

1 Like

Hello, @animeshn95. Welcome to the Dataquest community and congratulations on completing your first guided project. I had a look at your project. Here are a few areas on which you could improve to make your analysis better.

• Always add an introduction to your project, explaining the readers what insights are you trying to derive from the analysis. In this case, you haven’t added any. So if someone were to read your project, they would never know what questions are you trying to answer in your analysis. Remember, data analysis is a form a story telling.
  • Use markdown to explain your thought process and what are you doing a certain thing and the reason for it. For example, in this particular project, you are removing the last details column of the dataset. You could have written like, Since, we only want to know the year in which most escapes happened and the country in which happened. The ‘details’ column for the analysis is pointless and makes the data a bit difficult to read. So, let’s get rid of the details column. Likewise, you could have done the same for fetching only the years of each prison escape.
  • The coding part of your project is good, I don’t see any problem in it. However, use code comments to explain technical things. Comments are supposed to help you understand what the code is doing. In the 8th cell, # Instruction 2 - nothing to do here doesn’t do anything. So, use your code comments wisely.
  • Lastly, always rerun your entire cells in the end.
  • Here’s a link which will help you to make your upcoming projects better with this style guide.

All the best on your learning journey. :smiley:

3 Likes

Hello @animeshn95.