[SQL - General] Database cleaning best practices/workflows?

Hello everyone,

I’m curious if someone wanted to share a specific workflow/best practices in SQL for prepping/cleaning data for analysis. For example, what would you look for? What functions are most important? How do you fix common problems?

I am a marketing manager, and I have just fundamental expertise in SQL. I have applied for an analytics position, and I will be given a take-home in the next few days. I genuinely suspect I will be asked to explain how I would clean a messy dataset in SQL.

So, just in case, I was hoping that you guys could provide some directions :slight_smile:

Thank you tons.

Hi @Tarmicle

Guess we are too late to respond to this post. Since I am not sure if you would still like to discuss this topic. Or if you have already worked out the application requirements, would you mind sharing your knowledge so that it helps us learn too?

Thanks.

Hi @Rucha,

Uhm, no actually I would still love to hear about this topic as I haven’t got much knowledge about it yet.

So any advice is still welcome!

Hi @Tarmicle

The data-cleaning and/or wrangling is a universal process that is applicable to all the data we come across. Because IRL we would hardly find a dataset that is ready to work with. So it shouldn’t matter much if we are working in SQL, Python, R or C#.

Few things I could think of (in random order and regardless of the dataset):

• Missing data

• In the Oracle database we have something called as NVL function. it helps substitute the null value to a default value. Say 0 for numerical field and “Unknown” for text/string columns.
    • You will have to think hard and figure out an approach to keep a row if there is missing information or you can impute the value - using mean or mode say.
  • Mismatched datatypes

• Column like Age would be numeric (or integer based) no matter what the UOM - Years, months, days, decades