Web scraping pipeline, would like your feedback

Hi all,

I have been learning Python for about 2 months on dataquest and today I created my first web scraping script. The script scrapes mortage interest percentages of a Dutch bank. To me it felt like such an achievement that I managed to scrape the data, transform it and write it to a csv file. Also I scheduled the script to it automatically runs every day.

Could you provide me some feedback on the way my code is structured? Would you use the same structure of do things differently?

from bs4 import BeautifulSoup
import requests
import pandas as pd 
import datetime

response = requests.get('https://www.rabobank.nl/particulieren/hypotheek/hypotheekrente/rente-annuiteitenhypotheek-en-lineaire-hypotheek/')

soup = BeautifulSoup(response.text, 'html.parser')
table = soup.find("div", attrs={"class": "tpa-table__scrollable-area"})
rows = table.findAll('tr')
data = [[td.findChildren(text=True) for td in tr.findAll("td")] for tr in rows]
data = [[u"".join(d).strip() for d in l] for l in data]
df = pd.DataFrame(data)
new_header = df.iloc[0]
df = df[1:]
df.columns = new_header
df.rename(columns={"":"Jaren"}, inplace=True)
df['Jaren'] = df['Jaren'].apply(lambda x: x.replace('jaar',''))
df = pd.melt(df, id_vars=['Jaren'], var_name = "Voorwaarde", value_name = "Rente %")
df["Rente %"] = df['Rente %'].apply(lambda x: float(x.strip().replace("%","").replace(",","."))/100)
df["Timestamp"] = datetime.datetime.now().strftime("%d-%m-%Y %H:%M:%S")
df.to_csv(r'C:\Users\Desktop\rabo_rente.csv', mode='a', header=False, index=False)
3 Likes

Could someone provide me some feedback on the structure?
I have heard it is better practise to start defining functions and create a main function to execute the whole script? Any tips?

Hi. I can give you some recommendations.