When did you feel like Python finally "clicked" for you?

Hello fellow learners,

I’ve been using DataQuest for about two months now. I have following the Data Analyst in Python path, and just finished the Intermediate Fundamentals course.

I can’t help but feel like it’s just not clicking for me- when I get to the guided projects, there are segments of code I just don’t know how to create. I have to look up help multiple times along a project.

When did you feel like Python finally clicked for you? Was it after completing a certain task? Or after a certain amount of time? After reading a book or completing practice problems? I’m curious what others’ experiences are like.

4 Likes

This is such a great question and I’m sorry I will not be able to provide you with an equally great answer…but that won’t stop me from trying! :sunglasses:

I have been using DataQuest (on/off) for approximately 8 months now. I’m not so sure I’ve hit the “it has clicked for me” moment yet but I am certainly more comfortable now than when I finished the Intermediate Fundamentals course.

This is completely normal. I believe no matter how well you know python, you will always have to google how to do certain things or can’t quite remember the name of a parametre and you will have to check documentation. But as time goes on and you learn more and more, these little “side missions” will take less and less time. Right now, you are at the stage of learning what is possible with python (and that’s a lot!) but eventually you will reach a point where you need only be reminded rather than “learning from scratch.”

Keep in mind, python is language…and a pretty robust and complicated one at that! Think about learning another spoken language and how long it takes before you truly feel fluent. It takes time and effort but rest assured, it will come!

3 Likes

Hi Kevin,

Welcome to the Community!