When is it ok to include forward-looking data during training?

I’m fairly new to data science and I’ve taken it as a cardinal rule that none of my training data should be aware of anything that isn’t available at prediction time. When the training data is historical and time is a factor, I assume that including any information that came after a particular training data instance would risk polluting the model. I found a case that feels ambiguous though.

The specific situation that I’m wondering about involves predicting the availability of a location. I’m exploring the possibility of using the history of visitors to that location as a feature. My labeled data and my observations of the visit history have dates throughout 2019. I want to train on the average visitors per day. I can either restrict my calculation of the average to the visitors before each label (an observation of availability) or I can calculate the average for each location over all of 2019. Including all of 2019 means that this feature for each label will include future data. I’m wary of this approach but when I filter to only observations before the labels then I have a lot less data to calculate the averages.

What would go wrong if I include the forward-looking observations in calculating these averages? How would I know if I’ve made a mistake?

Much appreciated.

1 Like