Would really appreciate suggestions, feedbacks & criticisms--Guided Project: Visualizing Earnings Based On College Majors

Hey everyone!

I just finished my fourth guided project. As an aspiring data scientist, I would like to use this project to help me gain more experience and knowledge in my data science journey. I would really appreciate any suggestions, feedbacks, & criticism! Thank you! ;D

Mission screen

github

4_Guided Project_Visualizing Earnings Based On College Majors.ipynb (1.2 MB)

Click here to view the jupyter notebook file in a new tab

8 Likes

Very nicely done @adrianzchmn! Love your analysis and answering of the questions!

1 Like

Hi @adrianzchmn

Nice. Very thorough and well layed out analysis. Great job. A couple of things I noticed:

• I am personally not a big fan of having the same information given twice, once in a markdown cell and the second time around as a comment in the python code. In the same vein, while your code is very well documented, some of the descriptions are a bit too verbose for me. For example things like recent_grads.describe() #summary statistics for all of the numeric columns. All you are doing here is calling a basic DataFrame method. I don’t think this needs a description in the code itself.

• len(DataFrame.index). Good idea to use len() to get the number of df rows. However, you don’t need the index attribute. len(DataFrame) is already sufficient and more concise.

• Visualization: In most scenarios I would recommend avoiding double-coding of variables. In your scatterplots the y-value is also used for color (hue). The same is true for some of the bar charts (colorfill and x-axis are based on the same variable). Here, you are in essence adding an additional dimension (level of complexity) without increasing the information presented. Yes, it does look nice on the first glance, but it is not considered a good practice in data visualization. Better to avoid it.